الخلفية التاريخية لحركة الترميم

كنائس المسيح
  • التسجيل

كان جيمس أوكيلي من الكنيسة الميثودية الأسقفية ، أحد أوائل دعاة العودة إلى المسيحية في العهد الجديد ، كوسيلة لتحقيق وحدة جميع المؤمنين بالمسيح. في 1793 ، انسحب من مؤتمر بالتيمور لكنيسته ودعا الآخرين للانضمام إليه في اتخاذ الكتاب المقدس باعتباره العقيدة الوحيدة. كان تأثيره محسوسًا إلى حد كبير في فرجينيا ونورث كارولينا حيث سجل التاريخ أن نحو سبعة آلاف من المراسلين اتبعوا قيادته نحو العودة إلى المسيحية في العهد الجديد البدائي.

في 1802 كان هناك حركة مماثلة بين المعمدانيين في نيو إنغلاند بقيادة أبنير جونز وإلياس سميث. كانوا قلقين بشأن "الأسماء والعقائد المذهبية" وقرروا ارتداء الاسم المسيحي فقط ، مع أخذ الكتاب المقدس كدليلهم الوحيد. في 1804 ، في ولاية كنتاكي الحدودية الغربية ، اتخذ بارتون دبليو ستون والعديد من الدعاة المشيخيين إجراءات مماثلة أعلنوا أنهم سيأخذون الكتاب المقدس باعتباره "الدليل الوحيد المؤكد إلى الجنة". اتخذ توماس كامبل ، وابنه اللامع ، ألكساندر كامبل ، خطوات مماثلة في العام 1809 في ما يعرف الآن بولاية فرجينيا الغربية. لقد زعموا أن لا شيء يجب أن يكون ملزماً بالمسيحيين كمسألة عقيدة ليست قديمة قدم العهد الجديد. على الرغم من أن هذه الحركات الأربع كانت مستقلة تمامًا في بداياتها ، إلا أنها في النهاية أصبحت حركة استعادة قوية واحدة بسبب غرضها المشترك ودعوتها. لم يدافع هؤلاء الرجال عن بدء كنيسة جديدة ، بل عن عودة إلى كنيسة المسيح كما هو موضح في الكتاب المقدس.

لا يتصور أعضاء كنيسة المسيح أنفسهم ككنيسة جديدة بدأت قرب بداية القرن 19th. بدلاً من ذلك ، تم تصميم الحركة بأكملها لتتكاثر في العصور المعاصرة مع الكنيسة التي تم تأسيسها في الأصل في عيد العنصرة ، AD 30. تكمن قوة النداء في ترميم كنيسة المسيح الأصلية.

الحصول على في اللمس

  • وزارات الانترنت
  • صندوق بريد 2661
    دافنبورت ، IA 52809
  • 563-484-8001
  • محمي عنوان البريد الإلكتروني هذا من المتطفلين و برامج التطفل. تحتاج إلى تفعيل جافا سكريبت لتتمكن من مشاهدته.

Historical background of the Restoration Movement
  • Register

One of the earliest advocates of the return to New Testament Christianity, as a means of achieving unity of all believers in Christ, was James O'Kelly of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1793 he withdrew from the Baltimore conference of his church and called upon others to join him in taking the Bible as the only creed. His influence was largely felt in Virginia and North Carolina where history records that some seven thousand communicants followed his leadership toward a return to primitive New Testament Christianity.

In 1802 a similar movement among the Baptists in New England was led by Abner Jones and Elias Smith. They were concerned about "denominational names and creeds" and decided to wear only the name Christian, taking Bible as their only guide. In 1804, in the western frontier state of Kentucky, Barton W. Stone and several other Presbyterian preachers took similar action declaring that they would take the Bible as the "only sure guide to heaven." Thomas Campbell, and his illustrious son, Alexander Campbell, took similar steps in the year 1809 in what is now the state of West Virginia. They contended that nothing should be bound upon Christians as a matter of doctrine which is not as old as the New Testament. Although these four movements were completely independent in their beginnings eventually they became one strong restoration movement because of their common purpose and plea. These men did not advocate the starting of a new church, but rather a return to Christ's church as described in the Bible.

Members of the church of Christ do not conceive of themselves as a new church started near the beginning of the 19th century. Rather, the whole movement is designed to reproduce in contemporary times the church originally established on Pentecost, A.D. 30. The strength of the appeal lies in the restoration of Christ's original church.

Get In Touch

  • Internet Ministries
  • P.O. Box 114
    West Burlington, IA 52655
  • 319-576-7400
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.