恢复运动的历史背景
  • 马上登记

作为一种实现基督所有信徒团结的手段,最早提倡回归新约基督教的人之一是卫理公会主教会的詹姆斯奥凯利。 在1793,他退出了他的教会的巴尔的摩会议,并呼吁其他人加入他把圣经作为唯一的信条。 他的影响力主要体现在弗吉尼亚州和北卡罗来纳州,历史记录显示,大约七千名传播者跟随他的领导,回归原始的新约基督教。

在1802中,新英格兰浸信会的类似运动由Abner Jones和Elias Smith领导。 他们担心“教派的名字和信条”,并决定只穿着基督徒的名字,将圣经作为唯一的指导。 在肯塔基州的西部边境州,巴顿·W·斯通和其他几位长老会传教士采取了类似的行动,宣称他们会将圣经视为“唯一可靠的天堂指南”。 托马斯·坎贝尔和他的杰出儿子亚历山大·坎贝尔在现在的西弗吉尼亚州的1804年采取了类似的措施。 他们认为,任何事都不应该束缚在基督徒身上,因为这种教义不像新约圣经那么古老。 虽然这四个运动在他们开始时是完全独立的,但最终由于他们的共同目的和请求而成为一个强大的恢复运动。 这些人并不主张新教会的开始,而是如圣经所描述的那样回归基督的教会。

基督教会的成员并不认为自己是在19世纪初开始的新教会。 相反,整个运动旨在重现当代最初建立在五旬节教会AD 30上的教会。 上诉的力量在于恢复基督的原始教会。

得到 在触摸

  • 互联网部门
  • 邮政信箱2661
    Davenport,IA 52809
  • 563-484-8001
  • 此邮件地址受spam bots保护。 您必须启用JavaScript才能查看。

Historical background of the Restoration Movement
  • Register

One of the earliest advocates of the return to New Testament Christianity, as a means of achieving unity of all believers in Christ, was James O'Kelly of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1793 he withdrew from the Baltimore conference of his church and called upon others to join him in taking the Bible as the only creed. His influence was largely felt in Virginia and North Carolina where history records that some seven thousand communicants followed his leadership toward a return to primitive New Testament Christianity.

In 1802 a similar movement among the Baptists in New England was led by Abner Jones and Elias Smith. They were concerned about "denominational names and creeds" and decided to wear only the name Christian, taking Bible as their only guide. In 1804, in the western frontier state of Kentucky, Barton W. Stone and several other Presbyterian preachers took similar action declaring that they would take the Bible as the "only sure guide to heaven." Thomas Campbell, and his illustrious son, Alexander Campbell, took similar steps in the year 1809 in what is now the state of West Virginia. They contended that nothing should be bound upon Christians as a matter of doctrine which is not as old as the New Testament. Although these four movements were completely independent in their beginnings eventually they became one strong restoration movement because of their common purpose and plea. These men did not advocate the starting of a new church, but rather a return to Christ's church as described in the Bible.

Members of the church of Christ do not conceive of themselves as a new church started near the beginning of the 19th century. Rather, the whole movement is designed to reproduce in contemporary times the church originally established on Pentecost, A.D. 30. The strength of the appeal lies in the restoration of Christ's original church.

Get In Touch

  • Internet Ministries
  • P.O. Box 114
    West Burlington, IA 52655
  • 319-576-7400
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.